Government Decree 262/2020 (5 June)

on crossing the border from the Republic of Austria, the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic

The Government,

acting within its original legislative power laid down in Article 53 (2) of the Fundamental Law, having regard to the provisions of Act XII of 2020 on the containment of coronavirus,

acting, with respect to section 6, within its original legislative power laid down in Article 53 (3) of the Fundamental Law, on the basis of authorisation by the National Assembly under section 3 (1) of Act XII of 2020 on the containment of coronavirus,

acting within its function laid down in Article 15 (1) of the Fundamental Law, decrees as follows:

1. Scope of the Decree

Section 1 Border-crossing freight traffic shall not fall within the scope of this Decree.

2. Rules governing entry into Hungary

Section 2 (1) By way of derogation from the rules laid down in Government Decree 81/2020 (1 April) on extraordinary measures relating to the state of danger declared for the protection of health and lives and for the restoration of national economy (hereinafter "the Government Decree"), an Austrian citizen may enter the territory of Hungary.

(2) By way of derogation from the rules laid down in the Government Decree, a Czech citizen may enter the territory of Hungary.

(3) By way of derogation from the rules laid down in the Government Decree, a Slovak citizen may enter the territory of Hungary.

Section 3 By way of derogation from the rules laid down in the Government Decree, a Hungarian citizen arriving from the territory of

a) the Republic of Austria,

b) the Czech Republic, or

c) the Slovak Republic

may enter the territory of Hungary.

Section 4 EEA citizens entitled to permanent residence and proving this right with a permanent residence card shall receive the same treatment as Hungarian citizens.

3. Final provisions

Section 5(1) With the exception specified in paragraph (2), this Decree shall enter into force at 8 a.m. on 5 June 2020.

(2) Section 6 shall enter into force on 19 June 2020.

Section 6

Section 7 The following shall be repealed:

a) Government Decree 216/2020 (21 May) on crossing the border from the Republic of Austria,

b) Government Decree 235/2020 (26 May) on crossing the border from the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic.